The Metropolitan Opera and Yannick Nézet-Séguin top classic Grammy nominees

Opera song

Grammy nominations have been announced with Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the Metropolitan Opera leading the opera nominations.

The nominees for Best Opera Recording included Bartók’s “Bluebeard Castle” with Susanna Mälkki, Mika Kares and Szilvia Vörös; Glass’s “Akhnaten” with Karen Kamensek, J’Nai Bridges, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Zachary James and Dísella Lárusdóttir; and “The Cunning Little Vixen” by Janáček with Simon Rattle, Sophia Burgos, Lucy Crowe, Gerald Finley, Peter Hoare, Anna Lapkovskaja, Paulina Malefane, Jan Martinik and Hanno Müller-Brachmann. To complete the category, Little’s “Soldier Songs” with Corrado Rovaris, Johnathan McCullough, James Darrah and John Toia; and “Dialogues Des Carmélites” by Poulenc with Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor; Karen Cargill, Isabel Leonard, Karita Mattila, Erin Morley and Adrianne Pieczonka.

Nominees for Best Classical Solo Vocal Album included “Confessions” by Laura Strickling and Joy Schreier, “Dreams Of A New Day – Songs By Black Composers” by Will Liverman and Paul Sánchez; “Mythologies” by Sangeeta Kaur and Hila Plitmann (Virginie D’Avezac De Castera, Lili Haydn, Wouter Kellerman, Nadeem Majdalany, Eru Matsumoto & Emilio D. Miler); “Schubert: Winterreise” by Joyce DiDonato and Yannick Nézet-Séguin; and “Unexpected Shadows” by Jamie Barton, Jake Heggie and Matt Haimovitz.

The nominees for Best Classical Collection were “American Originals – A New World, A New Canon” with AGAVE and Reginald L. Mobley, “Berg: Violin Concerto; Seven Early Songs & Three Pieces For Orchestra ”conducted by Michael Tilson Thomas; “Cerrone: The Arching Path” with Timo Andres and Ian Rosenbaum, “Plays” by Chick Corea and “Women Warriors – The Voices Of Change” with Amy Andersson.

“It’s A Long Way” conducted by Matthew Guard led the nominees for Best Choral Performance, which also included “Mahler: Symphony No.8,“ Symphony of a Thousand ”” with Gustavo Dudamel, Grant Gershon, Robert Istad, Fernando Malvar- Ruiz and Luke McEndarfer, conductors (Leah Crocetto, Mihoko Fujimura, Ryan McKinny, Erin Morley, Tamara Mumford, Simon O’Neill, Morris Robinson and Tamara Wilson; “Rising w / The Crossing” with Donald Nally; “Schnittke: Concerto choir; Three Sacred Hymns; Pärt: Seven Magnificat-Antiphons “with Kaspars Putniņš,” Sheehan: Liturgy Of Saint John Chrysostome “conducted by Benedict Sheehan,” The Singing Guitar “with Craig Hella Johnson.

Finally, Producer of the Year, classic nominees included Blanton Alspaugh, Steven Epstein, David Frost, Elaine Martone and Judith Sherman.