The finalists announced for the 2021 Art Music Awards

Opera music


Celebrating the talents of Australia’s top composers and performers of contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music, this year’s awards will take place at the North Melbourne Meat Market on Tuesday, August 17, and will also include a number of live performances hosted by Barney McCall.

Presenting an unprecedented number of 23 finalists for the first time, each of the works highlighted at the 2021 Art Music Awards helps showcase the resilience and creativity of the Australian arts sector in the midst of a difficult year.

Among the nominees for this year’s awards are Saints guitarist Ed Kuepper and trio Alister Spence, Holly Harrison, Cathy Milliken, Mindy Meng Wang, Sydney Chamber Opera and Peggy Polias, who will be celebrated in 12 different categories.

The Luminary Awards will also be presented to individuals or groups who have contributed to their state or territory’s music community, with the APRA Board of Directors also naming the recipient of this year’s Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Service to Australian music.

The full list of Art Music Awards 20221 finalists is available below.

Title: Beannaicht An Long (Blessed be the boat)
Composer: Claire Maclean
Text: Traditional
Interpreter: VOICETitle: Sacred stepping stones
Composer Lisa Young
Text: Lisa Young
Interpreters: Chœur Massé, Gondwana National Choral School 2020 and Lisa Young, conductor

Title: Sing in harmony with nature
Composer: Amanda cole
Interpreters: NEO Voice Festival artists

Title: Until we meet again
Composer: Alice luck
Text: Alice luck
Interpreters: Leichhardt Espresso Chorus and Michelle Leonard OAM, artistic director

Work of the year – Dramatic

Title: Commute
Composer: Peggy polias
Text: Pierce wilcox
Interpreters: Sydney Chamber Opera, Jessica O’Donoghue, Jack Symonds, conductor, and Clemence Williams, director

Title: Female dragons do not cry; a Chamber Made & CultureLink Singapore coproduction
Composer: Erik Griswold
Interpreters: Margaret Leng Tan, performer, Tamara Saulwick, director, Nick Roux, videographer,
and Kok Heng Leun, playwright.

Title: His Black Marauder
Composer: Georgia Scott
Text: Pierce wilcox
Interpreters: Sydney Chamber Opera, Jane Sheldon, Jessica O’Donoghue, Simon Lobelson, Jack Symonds, conductor, and Danielle Maas, director.

Title: The tent
Composer: Josephine Macken
Text: Josephine Macken
Interpreters: Sydney Chamber Opera, Simon Lobelson, Mitchell Riley, Jane Sheldon, Jack Symonds, conductor and Danielle Maas, director.

work of the year – Jazz

Title: All those who travel with us
Composer: Loretta Palmeiro and Mark Isaacs
Interpreters: Loretta Palmeiro and Mark Isaacs

Title: Asteroid ecosystem
Composers: Alister Spence, Lloyd Swanton, Toby Hall and Ed Kuepper *
Interpreters: Alister Spence Threesome with Ed Kuepper
Editor: Universal Music Edition *

Title: Living
Composer: Paul Cutlan
Interpreters: Paul Cutlan String Project (Paul Cutlan, Liisa Pallandi, Caroline Hopson, James
Eccles, Oliver Miller, Brett Hirst and Tunji Beier)

Title: Spaccanapoli
Composer: Vanessa Perica
Interpreter: Vanessa Perica Orchestra

Work of the year – Grand Ensemble

Title: Kadosh Kadosh and Cursed
Composer: Yitzhak Yedid
Interpreters: Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM) and Lorraine Vaillancourt, conductor

Title: Exhibit 43 for now
Composer: Cathy Milliken
Interpreters: SWR Symphonieorchester and Titus Engel, conductor

Title: Sparkle
Composer: Holly harrison
Interpreters: San Jose State University Wind Ensemble and David Vickerman, conductor

Title: When I stand in front of you at the end of the day
Composer: Cyrus Meurant
Interpreters: Kirsten Williams and the Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Work of the Year – Chamber Music

Title: A room for her
Composer: Anne Cawrse
Interpreter: Australian string quartet

Title: Canyon 1205
Composer: Kate Neal and Grischa Lichtenberger
Interpreter: Blair Harris, cello

Title: Clarinet quintet
Composer: Gordon kerry
Interpreter: Omega set

Title: Hidden Thoughts II: Return to Sender
Composer: Katy abbott
Text: Compiled by Katy Abbott and Maureen Johnson, based on letters sent by Australians to asylum seekers in detention
Interpreters: Flinders Quartet with Dimity Shepherd, mezzo-soprano, and Richard Piper, narrator

Work of the year – Electroacoustic / Sound art

Title: An improvisation through time and space 穿越时光 的 即兴
Composer: Mindy Meng Wang
Interpreter: Mindy Meng Wang, guzheng

Title: Closed starts
Composers: Tariro Mavondo, Ruben Lewis and Peter Knight
Interpreters: Tariro Mavondo, poetry, Reuben Lewis and Peter Knight, music, Jem Savage, sound production and Leo Dale, video production

Title: Fugue
Composer: Jane sheldon
Text: David Rattray
Interpreters: Jane Sheldon, soprano, Kirsty McCahon, double bass, and the Sydney Dance Company’s 2020 pre-professional cohort; Omer Backley-Astrachan, choreography.

Title: Oracle Room
Composer: Amanda cole
Interpreters: Lamorna Nightingale, bass flute and James Nightingale, saxophone

Performance of the year – Jazz / Improvised music

Performers: Loretta Palmeiro and Mark Isaacs
Title: All those who travel with us
Composers: Loretta Palmeiro and Mark Isaacs

Performers: Phil Slater Quintet (Phil Slater, Brett Hirst, Matthew Keegan, Matthew McMahon and Simon Barker)
Title: Gold seam
Composer: Phil Slater, Brett Hirst, Matthew Keegan, Matthew McMahon and Simon Barker

Performer: Phonetic Orchestra
Title: Silent cities
Composer: Phonetic Orchestra

Performer: Vazesh (Jeremy Rose, Hamed Sadeghi and Lloyd Swanton)
Title: The sacred key
Composer: Jeremy Rose *, Hamed Sadeghi and Lloyd Swanton
Editor: Original music edition *

Performance of the year – Rated composition

Performer: Carl Rosman
Title: Control
Composer: Jakob bragg

Performer: Emily Granger
Title: The harp and the moon
Composer: Ross edwards
Editor: BMG AM

Performer: Ensemble Offspring
Title: In mass
Composer: Alex Pozniak

Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera, Jessica O’Donoghue, Jack Symonds, conductor, and Clemence Williams, director
Title: Commute
Composer: Peggy Polias,
Text: Pierce wilcox