Carrie Hope Fletcher, Rob Houchen, Summer Strallen and more to join Ahrens & Flaherty’s West End celebration

Opera theater

Bray Productions Ltd today announced the lead and supporting cast who will join Olivier Award winner Maria Friedman in A Journey to the Past, a West End celebration of the works of the award-winning musical theater writing team. a Tony Award-winning and world-renowned company, Ahrens & Flaherty.

The musical celebration, led by Maria Friedman, will feature a selection of music from the songwriting duo’s most beloved works, including Maria Friedman reprising her Olivier-winning performance of Ragtime’s “Back to Before.”

The main cast members announced today are: Three-time WhatsOnStage award winner Carrie Hope Fletcher (Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Cinderella, Heathers), Rob Houchen (South Pacific, Les Miserables), Cedric Neal (Back to the Future, The Voice UK), Lucy St Louis (The Phantom of the Opera, Motown the Musical) and four-time Olivier Award nominee Summer Strallen (Young Frankenstein, Top Hat).

The supporting cast announced today are: Georgia Anderson (Hairspray), Jordan Cunningham (Heathers, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie), Jemal Felix (The Phantom of the Opera, Kinky Boots), Teddy Hinde (Anyone Can Whistle), Claudia Kariuki (Six, School of Rock), Nardia Ruth (The Prince of Egypt), Hana Stewart (Six, West End and Broadway) and Rodney Vubya (Cinderella by Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical).

Other main and supporting casts will be announced at a later date.

A Journey to the Past will be presented for a single performance at the Lyric Theater with tickets on sale now.

Joining Maria Friedman on the creative team are Simon Lee as Music Supervisor, Michael Bradley as Music Director, Nathan M Wright as Choreographer, Leon Kay Casting as Casting Director and Andrew Exeter as Casting Designer. decorations and lighting.

Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty are considered the premier theatrical writing team of their generation. They won Tony, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle awards for the Broadway hit Ragtime and were nominated for two Oscars and two Golden Globes for Twentieth Century Fox’s animated feature Anastasia, which they also adapted. for the Broadway stage. Their new musical Knoxville is currently making its world premiere in Florida.

Their musical Once On This Island won London’s Olivier Award and Broadway’s 2018 Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical. Other theater credits include Ragtime, Seussical (one of America’s most produced shows); Rocky; My favorite year; Chita Rivera – The Dancer’s Life; Dessa Rose; A man of no importance; The Glorious; Lucky Stiff and two upcoming shows, Knoxville and Little Dancer.

They serve on the Board of the Dramatists Guild of America and co-founded the DGF Fellows Program for Emerging Writers. They are four-time Grammy nominees, recipients of the Oscar Hammerstein Lifetime Achievement Award, and in 2015 Ahrens and Flaherty were inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame.

Lynn Ahrens said: “After two long years of uncertainty, what a wonderful way to celebrate the return to acting. I’m honored to have my work back on stage in London!”

Stephen Flaherty said: “I can’t wait to see our music and lyrics back in the West End at the historic Lyric Theatre, under the direction of our leading lady and friend of RAGTIME, Maria Friedman.a?? What a night it’s going be be!”